Amazing memories of hazy days ( or what I would like to give my children )

Holidays are funny things… the best in a ‘ha ha’ way but almost always in a bit of a time warp way where the normal rhythms of life are interrupted and you have a slight out of life experience. Returning to normality can be startling and can leave you wondering if you ever went away. But there will be things that have changed, little victories that will act as proof that you did step outside the lines of your everyday existence and you are, however slightly, a different person.

As a child I had amazing holidays. I was very lucky to go to some fantastic places bit don’t be fooled into thinking that you need to go far from home to find fantastic. I love the UK and if only the weather were a tiny bit more predictable I would choose it over a foreign holiday every time.

I look forward to our children being a little older so I they can learn some of the things my parents taught me as well as adding their own. Among the things I am keen to cover are:
– catching crabs. Not that kind! Proper harbour dwelling crabs that you catch on an orange plastic rope with a bit of bacon on the end. Then you put them back only to repeat the exercise the following day.
– read a map. I only really ‘got’ map reading when we were out walking in open spaces with a map. Even in these days of sat nav, map reading is a great skill to have.
– writing postcards. The thrill of choosing and writing your own missive. Usually to adoring grandparents who kept them on the fridge forever.
– playing card games. All day. While the rain drums down for the third day in a row.
– buying precious tat souvenirs to keep forever. Holidays were one of the first times we had our own money in a proper purse and we could buy stuff for ourselves. We felt so grown up!
– that going home at the end is lovely too. However great the holiday is there is also something great about returning home to the familiar bed and comforts. Even if it’s only a few hours before you are browsing the web looking for your next adventure.

This competition has made me remember holidays in Wales and now I’m off to look for our next big adventure!

 

This post is an entry for the Visit Wales #Wales4Kids Family Holiday Challenge. Wales is the perfect place for a fun-filled family break. If you would like to find out more click here.  Find out more about how great Wales is as a family holiday destination either follow@visitwales on Twitter or Visit Wales on Facebook (www.facebook.com/visitwales).

One thought on “Amazing memories of hazy days ( or what I would like to give my children )

  1. Liked this post as brought back memories. Hope you have lots of new fun learning adventures ahead. Commenting for myself @kateonthinice and on behalf of BritMums and thanking you for taking part

Leave a Reply

